Department of Finance. Created by Act of Parliament in 1869, this Department now operates under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10 as amended by SC 1970-71, cc.42,55). It is primarily responsible for advice to the government on the economic and financial affairs of Canada. The work of the Department is carried out in six branches. The Tax Policy Branch helps form tax policy and maintain the tax structure in good order so that revenues required by the government will be raised in the best possible way. Its work is carried out in the Personal, Commodity and Estates Tax Division, the Corporation and Business Income Division and the International Tax Section. The Federal-Provincial Relations and Economic Programs Branch comprises the Economic Development, Resource Program, Federal-Provincial Relations, and Social Development and Manpower Policy divisions and the Municipal Grants section. The Tariff, Trade and Aid Branch has the following divisions: Tariffs, International Economic Relations and International Programs. The Economic Analysis, Fiscal Policy and International Finance Branch includes the Economic Analysis Division, Fiscal Policy Division, Fiscal Analysis and Forecasting Division and the International Finance Division. The Financial Operations Branch has the Capital Markets Division and Government Finance, Loans, Investments and Guarantees Division. The Long-Range Economic Planning Branch is responsible for co-ordinating, planning and developing medium- and long- term economic measures and policies. The Inspector General of Banks is an office of the Department, In addition, the following agencies report to Parliament through the Minister of Finance: the Anti-dumping Tribunal, the Bank of Canada, the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Industrial Development Bank, the Department of Insurance and the Tariff Board. The Minister of Finance acts as spokesman in Parliament for the Auditor General.

Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. The Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development was established in June 1966, superseding the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources; it now operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.I-7. In 1968, the Department was reorganized, creating, in addition to departmental support services and a Technical Services Branch, three distinct program areas: the Indian and Eskimo Affairs Program includes education, community affairs, economic development for Indians and Eskimos and Indian trust administration; the Northern Development Program covers major resource development in the Canadian North, management of territorial resources along with economic research and advice; and the Conservation Program, including National Parks and Historic Sites and Parks.

The Commissioner of the Northwest Territories and the Commissioner of the Yukon Territory report to Parliament through the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. The Minister is also responsible to Parliament for the Northern Canada Power Commission, the National Battlefields Commission and the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. The Northern Scientific Adviser's Office acts in an advisory capacity to the Minister.

Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce. In 1969, the Departments of Industry and of Trade and Commerce were merged to form the Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce (ITC), which operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.I-11. ITC promotes the establishment, growth and efficiency of manufacturing, processing and tourist industries in Canada and fosters the development of Canadian trade. The Department plans and carries out programs to assist manufacturing and processing industries in adapting to new technology and changing market conditions, in developing unrealized potential and in rationalizing productive facilities and corporate structures. It promotes product and process development, increased productivity, greater use of research, modern equipment, improved industrial design, the application of advanced technology and modern management techniques, and the development and application of sound industrial standards in Canada and in world trade.

In addition, the Department's functions include: improving access of Canadian goods and services into external markets through trade negotiations; contributing to the improvement of world trading conditions; providing support services for industrial and trade development, including information, import analysis and traffic services; analyzing the implications for Canadian industry, trade and commerce and for tourism of government policies related thereto in order to contribute to the formulation and review of those policies; and compiling and updating detailed information on trends and developments in Canada and

abroad related to the manufacturing and processing and tourist industries.

The Department is organized into six major functional groups: Office of Tourism, Industry Development, Industrial Policies, Export Development, International Trade Relations and Administration. The Office of Tourism includes the Travel Industry Branch and the Canadian Government Travel Bureau. The Industry Development component is made up of nine Industry Development Branches which cover the major industry groupings in Canada: Aerospace, Marine and Rail; Agriculture, Fisheries and Food Products; Apparel and Textiles; Chemicals; Electrical and Electronics; Machinery; Materials; Mechanical Transport and Wood Products. The Industrial Policies segment includes the Office of Science and Technology, the Office of the Industrial Policy Adviser and the Office of Design. The Export Development section comprises Export Projects, Financing and Aid, Grains, Transportation and Trade Services, and Fairs and Missions. Reporting to the International Trade Relations sector is the Office of General Relations, the Office of Special Import Policy and the Office of Export/Import Permits. Administration is responsible for the areas of Finance, Personnel, Information Services and Program